For up to date information, videos and support resources on COVID-19 from the Psychiatry Academy, click here.
Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, our staff and faculty will be working remotely.
Please email us with any questions at or call 866-644-7792 and leave a message.


Brady, Kathleen, MD, PhD

Director, Clinical Neuroscience Division, Medical University of South Carolina
Director, Women's Research Center, Medical University of South Carolina
Professor of Psychiatry, Medical University of South Carolina


Kathleen T. Brady, MD, PhD, is a board-certified psychiatrist specializing in addiction psychiatry.  As a Professor of Psychiatry at the Medical University of South Carolina, Dr. Brady is Director of the Clinical Neuroscience Division, Director of the Women’s Research Center, Associate Director of the General Clinical Research Center (GCRC), and Director of the Southern Consortium of NIDA’s Clinical Trials Network.

Dr. Brady received her PhD in Pharmacology from Virginia Commonwealth University and her MD degree from the Medical University of South Carolina, where she completed a residency in psychiatry, served as Chief Resident, and completed an Addiction Psychiatry fellowship.  Her research interests are in the areas of drug and alcohol abuse/addiction and comorbid conditions such as posttraumatic stress disorder and other anxiety disorders.  She has served as Principal Investigator, Co-Principal Investigator, and Mentor on numerous research projects.  She is currently in the 6th year of a NIDA-sponsored K24 Mid-Career Investigator Award in Patient-Oriented Research designed to support time spent in research mentoring activities.  In addition, she has received awards for her research, teaching, and clinical work, and has been listed in "Best Doctors in America" since 1998.

Dr. Brady has been very active in organizations addressing the concerns of psychiatry and addictions.  She is Past President of the Association for Medical Education and Research in Substance Abuse, she has served on the Scientific Advisory Council of the National Institute of Drug Abuse and the Committee on Community Based Treatment of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Science, as well as the Board of Directors of the College of Problems of Drug Dependence. She is currently the President of the American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry.